Bite This: Magpie

20131213-225209.jpg
Whether you think God is red, black, white or purple, there is one thing that we can all agree on: God eats pie. Pie is divine. Put chicken in it, put any fruit in it ,and it will morph into crumbs in a flash. The people at Magpie (1622 South St.), a super cute, byob, late-ish night pie diner, on South Street clearly think as much of pie, as I do.

In a pinch of a stressful day, I departed from my usually, penny pinching self and went straight to Magpie to unwind in some sweet gooey fruity flakiness. I walked in to see my neighbors, familiar and not so familiar, laughing over bottles of whine and crumb topping. Trying to be all seasonal and everything, I got the cranberry/ mixed berry pie (it was peering out of the foil pan, staring at me…). Though I admit, my sweet tooth was satisfied almost instantaneously as the pie met tongue, I immediately felt my father’s heavy hand smacking the back of my head for paying 6.50 for that slice. ” I taught you how to make better pie than that”. It’s true, I can make comparable pie for just a few dollars more than the cost of one slice. I’ve just become too busy and uhh…lazy…

There it is, I’m gonna put it out there…In 2014 I will make more pie. What are your food related new years resolutions????

20131213-233234.jpg

About bigbiteblog

Big Appetite. Big Competitions. Big Attitude...Big Bite. A blog about food, food battles, and how food rules everything around me. F.R.E.A.M.! View all posts by bigbiteblog

Leave a Reply

