2013 Chili Check-In: Cat Downs & Erik Humes

407b6a7a647c11e19896123138142014_6Team Name: Cat Downs & Erik Humes
Chili Name: 2 Chicks 1 Chili
Neighborhood: EPX
Attempts:  This is our second year. Last year was our first attempt, and we scored 2nd place. Not too shabby (actually pretty awesome)!
Chili Profile: Despite the name, we are not 2 chicks making the chili (or doing anything else to it for that matter), but rather we put two whole roasted chickens INSIDE THE CHILI. Along with about 30 other ingredients. I dare you to guess them all!
About Cat & Erik: Erik and I are a married team, who like to work in the kitchen together. And by work in the kitchen, I mean I do most of it, and he taste-tests. He’s a really good taste-tester though. I’m pretty sure it’s one of the key reasons we do well at all. We’re both from the general area (New Jersey and the Philly burbs), and we started getting into cook-offs because I was bored and interested in cooking, and he likes to compete. This will be our 8th cook-off in total, and we’re still just as excited and clueless about what we’re doing. That’s what makes it fun!
Who makes the best Chili in the City?: I agree that the best chilis are at this cook-off. Otherwise, Philly isn’t much of a chili town, which is a real shame.
Best Chili you ever made: We try to improve our chili with new ingredients and ideas every time we make one, so I’m going to say this one will be the best. Until the next one.
Best Quote: “You don’t win friends with salad!”
Prediction: I predict we will have an awesome time, as we do at any BigBite event. I also predict we will either win, or lose.
Website/Blogcatattacks.tumblr.com/  (which I rarely update, yay!)

About bigbiteblog

Big Appetite. Big Competitions. Big Attitude...Big Bite. A blog about food, food battles, and how food rules everything around me. F.R.E.A.M.! View all posts by bigbiteblog

Leave a Reply

