Bite This!: Ken Shin – Hot Sea Roll

After watching Jiro Dreams of Sushi, my stomach reminded me of how much it longs for a good sushi sit-down feast. Although I haven’t made it to my feast just yet, I picked up the phone and called for my favorite sushi roll in the area: The Ken Shin, Asian Diner’s Hot Sea Roll.

Ok, I know. When you hear Asian + Diner, you can get a little skeptical. What can an Asian diner possibly sell? Well, just like an American diner you can find a smorgasbord of delicious Thai, Korean, Chinese Japanese and Vietnamese varieties, all jam packed into one awesome menu! To me that sounds way better than your typical American diner fare.

Stop in to Ken Shin and start with the Hot Sea Roll, a simple Spicy Salmon and Avocado Roll topped with a nicely peppered and flavorful seared tuna. I know it’s just one roll, but DAMN, it’s a good one. Other favorites are the tiger roll, Pad Thai, Pan Seared Udon, the Chicken Pho (I know – weird, but also a good one), and the long list of bubble teas (Tara is the preferred here).

Don’t be fooled by the cheesy nightclub feel, Ken Shin is about its food. This is a great Asian Fusion off-beat spot in the booming neighborhood of Northern Liberties. Get to it people!

Ken Shin Asian Diner
301 Spring Garden Street
Philadelphia, PA 19123
215.925.8887

-Ryllis

About bigbiteblog

Big Appetite. Big Competitions. Big Attitude...Big Bite. A blog about food, food battles, and how food rules everything around me. F.R.E.A.M.! View all posts by bigbiteblog

Leave a Reply

