Travel Bites: Boston Food Truck

If you are a food truck lover like I am, then you would appreciate the amazing simplicity of this truck – Grilled Cheese Nation Food Truck in Boston, MA. I will admit I have a lot of  “favorite foods”, but you can always get to my heart through a grilled cheese sammie.  This wonderful American favorite originated in the 1920’s due to the abundance of inexpensive cheese and bread during the Great Depression. Nothing about a grilled cheese makes me depressed.

I was lucky enough to have a chat with the  owner of Grilled Cheese Nation and founder of the Boston Area Food Truck Association. For one, he and his members are fighting to get a larger food trucks presence in the city of Boston which is a kind-of-a-big-deal, and super respectable. Secondly, he is killing it with the grilled cheese options at his truck! Seriously.

I can only share a photo of the menu and not of the actual food because I scarfed it all down waaay  before I could say “cheese” (hehe get it?).


The gourmet grilled snackables that I tried were:
The Boston CommonAged Mild Vermont Cheddar with Applewood Smoked Bacon on Iggy’s Organic Pain de Mie Bread.
Brie Me Up: Melted Creamy Brie with Sliced Asian Pear on Iggy’s Organic Wheat Pain de Mie Bread.

But the most noteworthy and honestly, the one I still crave the most was:
The Blue Man GooGreat Hill Blue Cheese and Organic Fig Spread with Aged Balsamic on Iggy’s Raisin Pecan Bread. HOLY GRANOLI. That blew my mind. The salt of the blue cheese, the sweetness of the fig spread, the tart flavor of the balsamic, all pressed and grilled in a sweet and nutty bread. Man oh man, this is a must try.

What made this even better (since it was cold at the time), was their shot’s of tomato soup to accompany my grilled cheeses. What a combo!

If you are ever in the Boston area, you need to get your hands on one of these delicious sammies. You can find Grilled Cheese Nation’s schedule here or call: 857-728-2057.

Keep it cheesy.

-Ryllis

About bigbiteblog

Big Appetite. Big Competitions. Big Attitude...Big Bite. A blog about food, food battles, and how food rules everything around me. F.R.E.A.M.! View all posts by bigbiteblog

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 606 other followers

